UniversalFX
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Official forums of UniversalFX

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Explosion in After Effects?

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
sonynintendogamer

sonynintendogamer

Explosion in After Effects? Empty
PostSubject: Explosion in After Effects?   Explosion in After Effects? EmptyMon Sep 07, 2009 2:59 pm

How would I make an explosion in After Effects? I am a good editor so I would like a long tutorial. Any help is appreciated!

TY!

PS: No other programs, please. Just AE.
Back to top Go down
God
Admin
God

PostSubject: Re: Explosion in After Effects?   Explosion in After Effects? EmptyMon Sep 07, 2009 7:07 pm

ok for this effect it is very difficult but will be easy after practice....

ok i got 2 ways to do this an easy way but would look kinda cheesy but its REALLY quick.

Easy:
Go to www.DetonationFilms.com
then pick an explosion and a fire effect,
import your media such as a simple background or whatever your gonna use, you make that into compostion of your size.
then go to; Layer > New > adjustment layer (an adjustment layer is like a blank transparent layer that you can do whatever you want then if you dont like you cn delete without deleting your actual footage)
then search through the effects until you find curves and add to the adjustment layer, then adjust Curves settings to a very light orangish red.
then mask the adjustment layer in an eliptical shape starting from almost nothing; add a keyframe.
Then expand the eliptical (mask) until its about 50% in your screen (make sure its feathered so that it has a smooth edge); Key frame this about 4-5 seconds from the first keyframe.
Go to compostion Pre-Compose, then its time to bring the explosion into play...
drag in the explostion above your footage then place it wherever you want but the mask must be directly under it.
Now its time to time it (lol)